Last year I wrote a blog about the Rochester Dickens Festival.  I have just returned from this year’s event and as not much has changed there doesn’t seem much point in writing another, however I thought it would be fun to give you a pictorial record of my weekend:

20160602_100056

On my way

 

20160603_074117

A Cultural Breakfast

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘Don’t you know who I am?!’

 

The Festival takes over the entire City and surrounds the Castle and Cathedral.  Everywhere you look there are costumed characters – some are specific characters and others are generic Victorian folk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The festival takes over the entire City of Rochester

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rochester Castle

20160604_125441

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was younger, so much younger than today…

 

On each of the three days there are two parades through Rochester High Street and everyone in costume gathers ready to wave and smile until our jaws ache.  Fiction meets reality and there some extraordinary sites to be seen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

20160605_11494020160604_120052

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_0883             IMG_0885

 

 

IMG_0870

 

 

20160603_134842

With the cast of Dickens Theatre Company of Medway who were performing The Trials of Charles Dickens in the elegant Chamber at The Guildhall

 

Each year I perform a different show and this year I chose the ghost story of The Signalman.  I have been performing it as a memorised piece for over a year and I have finally found a way of presenting it in a way that I am happy with.  I was fortunate that the Dickens Theatre Company had installed a lighting rig, which they were happy to let me use.  With eerie red glows to suggest a danger light at the of the ‘barbarous, depressing and forbidding tunnel’, as well as The Signalman’s meagre fire in his signal box, the story took on an altogether more sinister tone.

 

20160603_134951

 

20160604_174615

 

After a grey, misty Friday and Saturday, the bright sun finally broke through for the final day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Almost everywhere you look there are connections to the works of Dickens

 

 

20160604_105118

Not all vendors fully embrace the Victorian theme….

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…..whilst others imaginatively use Charles for their own ends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A visiting brass band from Amsterdam played a wonderful set, including a rousing James Bond theme medley.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

On Sunday evening, during the Cathedral’s regular Evensong, Charles Dickens is remembered

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Evensong Memorial Service in Rochester Cathedral

 

 

 

